We are indebted to the University of Latvia, Rector Prof. M. Auziņš, Prof. I. Lācis, Prof. I. Muižnieks, Dr. A. Pujāts, Department of Intenrational Relations at the University of Latvia, Prof. G. Straube and Kristīne Ante;
Ministry of Culture, Republic of Latvia,
the Department of Philosophy at Kansas State University,
the Embassy of the United States of America in Latvia,
the Embassy of the German Federal Republic in Latvia,
Frank M. Siebert, Latvijas Gāze, Latvijas Kultūras fonds and
Mārtiņš Vanags.

Let us also express our heartfelt gratitude in affectionate memory to Paul Tomassi, the main motivator and guiding light of the First Symposium. Many sincere thanks also to Lindsey McLean and Scots Philosophy Club.